Dirt Simple Pedal Steel Guitar by John Hartin and Chet Hartin (Book + Online Audio)

Write a Review
Usually ships next business day
Calculated at Checkout
Frequently bought together:


Dirt Simple Pedal Steel Guitar by John Hartin and Chet Hartin (Book + Online Audio)

This book was designed for the 10-string, 3-pedal steel guitar in the versatile E9 tuning. It features 20 engaging public-domain songs in standard notation and tab with first-verse lyrics, suggested accompaniment chords and online audio. 

The tunes are arranged progressively from easy to harder, beginning with single-note melody arrangements and expanding to 2 and 3-note harmonies towards the end of the book. As you turn the pages you will also notice more frequent use of slides, pedals and knee levers. 

Program notes document the many country and bluegrass artists who have recorded these songs. These melodies have clearly stood the test of time and will make a great addition to the novice pedal steel guitarist’s repertoire.
  • Reading Tablature and Picking
  • Pedals and Grips
  • Positions and Blocking
  • Bile Them Cabbage Down
  • When the Saints Go Marching In
  • Bury Me Beneath the Willow
  • On Top of Old Smoky
  • Away in a Manger
  • Foggy Mountain Top
  • Buffalo Gals
  • Careless Love
  • Wildwood Flower
  • The Blue-Tail Fly
  • The Unclouded Day
  • Oh! Susanna
  • Amazing Grace
  • Jesus Loves Me
  • Goodnight Ladies
  • Banks of the Ohio
  • Precious Memories
  • Red River Valley
  • Down in the Valley
  • Will the Circle Be Unbroken


Product Number: 30706M
Format: Book + Online Audio 
Skill Level: Beginning-Intermediate
Notation Type: Standard Notation and Tab
Pages: 52
Binding: Saddle Stitched
Size: 8.75 x 11.75
ISBN: 1-5134-6919-3
ISBN13: 978-15134-6919-5
Series: Dirt Simple
Publisher: Mel Bay Publications, Inc.
Date Published: 12/1/2022
All of the above courtesy of Mel Bay Publications
View AllClose